Cricket Galiyara

Batsmen with most runs in each IPL season

  • KL Rahul won the Orange Cap in the recently concluded IPL 2020.

  • Kohli holds the record of scoring most runs in a single season of the lucrative league.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 saw yet another title going in the cabinet of Mumbai Indians (MI) after they won the coveted trophy for the record fifth time. Fans witnessed high-quality batting, spectacular bowling and fantastic fielding in the thirteenth season of the T20 extravaganza.

Speaking about batting, the 2020 edition was quite special for the stroke makers. On the slow tracks of the United Arab Emirates (UAE), batting was a challenging task, but some top quality players made it look like a cake-walk and excelled with the willow.

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) skipper KL Rahul topped the charts in the leading run-getters list of IPL 2020. The 28-year-old played 14 games and accumulated 670 runs at a breathtaking average of 55.83. The right-handed batsman recorded one century and five fifties.

The run-scoring ability of various batsmen has always attracted fans in IPL. Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) skipper David Warner has been one of the most consistent run-scorers in the lucrative league. The ‘pocket dynamite’ has won the Orange Cap thrice in the tournament – most by any batsman in the history of IPL. Warner achieved the feat in 2015 (562 runs), 2017 (641 runs) and 2019 (692 runs).

Another Aussie Shaun Marsh was the first batsman to grasp the Orange Cap way back in 2008 – the inaugural season of IPL. Marsh, while playing for KXIP, had amassed 616 runs.

When it comes to scoring most runs in a single edition of the exciting league, then Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) skipper Virat Kohli tops the table. Kohli had achieved the distinctive landmark in 2016 when he clubbed a whopping 973 runs in 16 games at a mind-boggling average of 81 with four centuries and seven fifties.

Here are the batsmen with most runs in each IPL season:

  • 2008: Shaun Marsh (616 runs) – Kings XI Punjab
  • 2009: Matthew Hayden (572 runs) – Chennai Super Kings
  • 2010: Sachin Tendulkar (618 runs) – Mumbai Indians
  • 2011: Chris Gayle (608 runs) – Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • 2012: Chris Gayle (733 runs) – Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • 2013: Michael Hussey (733 runs) – Chennai Super Kings
  • 2014: Robin Uthappa (660 runs) – Kolkata Knight Riders
  • 2015: David Warner (562 runs) – Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • 2016: Virat Kohli (973 runs) – Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • 2017: David Warner (641 runs) – Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • 2018: Kane Williamson (735 runs) – Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • 2019: David Warner (692 runs) – Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • 2020: KL Rahul (670 runs) – Kings XI Punjab

This story has been sourced from a third party syndicated feed, agencies. Cricket Galiyara accepts no responsibility or liability for its dependability, trustworthiness, reliability, and data of the text. DigitalGaliyara (OPC) Private Limited management reserves the sole right to alter, delete, or remove (without notice). If you have any concerns with the Content, then please write to us at the

Related posts

RCB’s Moeen Ali gets run out off a free-hit against SRH; netizens go crazy

Digital Galiyara

Josh Hazlewood takes an excellent catch on his follow-through to remove Jason Roy

Digital Galiyara

19 – Bangladesh batsman Saif Hassan returns positive again in second test

Digital Galiyara

Leave a Comment