Cricket Galiyara

BBL 2020-21 – BBL fixtures confirmed, begins in Tasmania and Canberra hubs; talks continue over Perth matches

Tasmania and Canberra will host the first batch of BBL games this summer from December 10, before the competition swings into Queensland and Adelaide late in the month.

Cricket Australia unveiled a long-delayed schedule for the first portion of the competition on Thursday, with 21 matches locked on up until New Year’s Eve. The remaining fixtures will likely include Sydney and Melbourne, with negotiations also ongoing around holding some games in Perth. It is believed that Melbourne may be lined up to host the tournament finals.

Hobart Hurricanes, Sydney Sixers, Perth Scorchers, Melbourne Renegades and Adelaide Strikers will all commences their campaigns in Hobart at Bellerive Oval, while Sydney Thunder, Melbourne Stars and Brisbane Heat will begin their tilts for the title in matches at Canberra’s Manuka Oval.

To allow the tournament to continue while the Australia-India day-night Test is held in Adelaide from December 17-21, there will be two morning matches on December on 19 and 20 in Hobart leading into the start of play at the Test.

There will be no Christmas Eve fixture this year with the tournament resuming with a double-header on Boxing Day. Adelaide Oval will host its traditional New Year’s Eve fixture when the Strikers take on the Scorchers.

The 2021 fixtures for the tournament have also been unveiled, with their venues to be confirmed – there remains the possibility that these later rounds will revert to a more conventional home and away fixture should state borders and related restrictions be eased in the time of Covid-19.

“This is without doubt the most complex fixturing task ever undertaken by the League and we are excited with where it has landed. It has been a difficult year for so many people around Australia and we look forward to bringing the BBL to every state should border conditions allow us to,” the head of the BBL Alistair Dobson said.

“We’re also pleased to provide certainty to our clubs, players, broadcasters, commercial partners and governments today with confirmation of match-ups, dates and start times for the entire BBL campaign, and venues for matches through to the end of 2020. We are working through scenarios for the remaining 35 regular season matches and Finals series to be played in the New Year with our clubs, broadcasters, partners and governments. An announcement on these venues will be made in the coming weeks.

“The BBL is by far and away the most watched sporting league in the country on a per-match basis and we look forward to that continuing as we celebrate ten years of the Big Bash.”

This story has been sourced from a third party syndicated feed, agencies. Cricket Galiyara accepts no responsibility or liability for its dependability, trustworthiness, reliability, and data of the text. DigitalGaliyara (OPC) Private Limited management reserves the sole right to alter, delete, or remove (without notice). If you have any concerns with the Content, then please write to us at the

Related posts

Australia women vs New Zealand women, 1st T20I, 2020

Digital Galiyara

Recent Match Report – Tasmania vs Queensland 2nd Match 2020

Digital Galiyara

Azhar Ali set to lose Pakistan Test captaincy

Digital Galiyara

Leave a Comment