Cricket Galiyara

New Zealand’s 14-year-old legspinner Kate Chandler bags List A five-for

New Zealand's 14-year-old legspinner Kate Chandler bags List A five-for


Chandler’s 5 for 41 helped Wellington beat Canterbury in NZC women’s domestic one-dayer

Just a month and 17 days past her 14th birthday, Wellington women’s Kate Chandler entered the record books by picking up a List A five-for in just her third match at this level in the New Zealand Cricket Women’s One Day Competition against Canterbury women at Christchurch’s Hagley Oval on Saturday.

Legspinner Chandler, still a schoolgoer, had three wickets in her first two games – all of them in a ten-over spell of 3 for 39 against Central Districts women earlier this month – but returned 5 for 41 against Canterbury, helping Wellington bowl the opponents out for 155 in 46.1 overs. Wellington then ticked off the runs in in 32.1 overs for the loss of two wickets.

Chandler started the show when Canterbury were 117 for 4, first sending back Lea Tahuhu, a national team regular and then, in the same over – the 35th of the innings – the veteran Kate Ebrahim. Her other victims were Laura Hughes, KM Sims and Gabby Sullivan. Chandler even returned a wicket-maiden and a double-wicket-maiden along the way.

Whether Chandler has become the youngest in List A history to bag a five-for couldn’t be ascertained, but an NZC statement said that her haul was the 14th best in Wellington women’s List A history.


p style=”font-size:12px”>This story has been sourced from a third party syndicated feed, agencies. Cricket Galiyara accepts no responsibility or liability for its dependability, trustworthiness, reliability, and data of the text. DigitalGaliyara (OPC) Private Limited management reserves the sole right to alter, delete, or remove (without notice). If you have any concerns with the Content, then please write to us at the

Related posts

Daniel Christian smashes the fastest fifty of BBL 2020-21

Digital Galiyara

IPL teams commemorate India’s iconic bowl-out win over Pakistan in 2007 T20 World Cup

Digital Galiyara

Jasprit Bumrah pips Virat Kohli to become India’s highest paid cricketer in 2020; no Rohit Sharma in top 5

Digital Galiyara