Recent Match Report – Australia vs New Zealand 4th T20I 2020/21


Australia named an unchanged side following their convincing win two days ago

Australia won the toss and decided to bat against New Zealand

Mitchell Santner returns for New Zealand as they look to avoid the T20I series going to a decider in Wellington following their comprehensive defeat in the second match.

Santner, who was ruled out of the second match under Covid-19 protocols due to a head cold, replaces Mark Chapman. New Zealand will have to chase a target again after Aaron Finch opted to bat first on a surface that is hosting its fourth game in three days.

Australia have named an unchanged side meaning another outing for Riley Meredith who made an impressive debut with 2 for 24 a couple of days ago.

The New Zealand government announced earlier in the day that the alert level would be lowered on Saturday which means crowds will be able to attend the final match of the series on Sunday.

New Zealand 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Tim Seifert, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Devon Conway, 5 Glenn Phillips, 6 Jimmy Neesham, 7 Mitchell Santner, 8 Kyle Jamieson, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Ish Sodhi, 11 Trent Boult

Australia 1 Aaron Finch, 2 Matthew Wade (wk), 3 Josh Philippe, 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Marcus Stoinis, 6 Mitchell Marsh, 7 Ashton Agar, 8 Jhye Richardson, 9 Kane Richardson, 10 Adam Zampa, 11 Riley Meredith

Andrew McGlashan is a deputy editor at ESPNcricinfo