Connect with us


Squad Size, Salary Cap & Available Slots For Mini-Auction



The fourteenth season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is set to be played in April-May in India with a mini-auction slated to take place on February 18.

Ahead of the auction, the eight franchises have announced a list of retained and released players with some interesting takeaways.

The biggest surprise was the release of Rajasthan Royals (RR) captain Steve Smith, who struggled to perform with the bat in IPL 2020.

Like RR, Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) also let go their big overseas players while building on a core unit of domestic players for the T20 extravaganza.

A total of 57 players were released by the eight franchises in the 2021 IPL Retention on Wednesday. These include some big names like Smith, Jason Roy, Harbhajan Singh, Glenn Maxwell, Chris Morris and Aaron Finch among others.

The next step for IPL franchises will be to ink on players they want to buy at the mini-auction.

The COVID-19 protocols will of course play a big role in deciding the venue of the event and the BCCI has a big challenge to organise the marquee event. The IPL 2021 auction will also have a live telecast on Star Sports India.

Team No. of slots No. of overseas slots Total  money spent (Rs.) Salary cap available (Rs.) Available slots Overseas slots
CSK 18 7 62.10 22.90 7 1
DC 19 6 72.09 12.90 6 2
KXIP 16 3 31.80 53.20 9 5
KKR 17 6 74.25 10.75 8 2
MI 18 4 69.65 15.35 7 4
RR 17 5 50.15 34.85 8 3
RCB 12 4 49.10 35.90 13 4
SRH 22 7 74.25 10.75 3 1
Total 139 42 483.3 196.6 61 22

This story has been sourced from a third party syndicated feed, agencies. Cricket Galiyara accepts no responsibility or liability for its dependability, trustworthiness, reliability, and data of the text. DigitalGaliyara (OPC) Private Limited management reserves the sole right to alter, delete, or remove (without notice). If you have any concerns with the Content, then please write to us at

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2021 DigitalGaliyara (OPC) Private Limited