Connect with us


The Hundred 2021 – full squads, player lists, retentions, signings



Following the postponement of English cricket’s new 100-ball competition due to the Covid-19 pandemic in 2020, the tournament will now launch in the summer of 2021. With the men’s and women’s squads beginning to take shape, we take a look at who makes up the eight new teams. But, a few things first …

Will the squads the same as they would have been last year?

No. Contracts for 2020 were cancelled after the tournament’s postponement, and a modified retention process was drawn up ahead of 2021.

What has changed?

One key difference for 2021 is that Kolpak registrations are no longer valid, meaning players like Dane Vilas, Ravi Rampaul and Simon Harmer who signed contracts for the Hundred’s first season can only be retained as overseas players, having previously counted as locals. With only three overseas players permitted per squad (and in each team’s playing XI), they were all released ahead of the draft.

Furthermore, the salary bands in the men’s competition have been cut by 20%, meaning top earners will now be paid £100,000 rather than £125,000, with those on the lowest salaries earning £24,000 rather than £30,000.

How does the men’s retention process work?

Teams were able to retain as many players as they want from the 15-man squads assembled at last year’s player draft, at a salary band negotiated with the player. The process ran from October until January, with a mini-draft to be held in February for teams to complete their squads. Teams will then be able to sign one ‘wildcard’ player at the minimum salary band following next season’s T20 Blast group stage.

What happens to the England players?

England will not play any white-ball cricket during the window reserved for the Hundred, meaning that their players on white-ball central contracts are part of the main selection process. Players in the Test squad will be required for international cricket during the tournament, and are likely to be available for three group games and Finals Day. Therefore, players with red-ball central contracts are allocated outside of the main draft. They will be paid match fees and a separate retainer.

There were a few changes from the allocations for 2020, with Ollie Pope replacing Jonny Bairstow at Welsh Fire, Zak Crawley moving out of the main draft grid and becoming London Spirit’s Test player, and Rory Burns and Dom Sibley moving to Oval Invincibles and Birmingham Phoenix respectively.

How will the mini-draft work?

At the end of the retention window, the finalised retained player list was published, showing which slots teams still have free. Teams will then pick players in a snake draft to fill their spots like in October 2019, in the reverse order to the first draft. Each team will also have one right-to-match (RTM) card, which will allow them to retain a player that they had signed for 2020 if another team chooses them in the draft, provided they have a slot free at that salary band.

What about the women’s squads?

With no player draft for the women, teams are selected by their respective head coaches. Players with contracts for 2020 were given the option to roll them over to 2021 at the same salary band, or to negotiate with other teams. Teams can sign a maximum of three players with England central contracts, and have until June 2021 to finalise their squads.

So, who’s already signed?

Birmingham Phoenix

Men’s squad: Chris Woakes, Dom Sibley, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali (captain), Kane Williamson, Benny Howell, Tom Helm, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Pat Brown, Adam Hose, Adam Zampa, Henry Brookes, Chris Cooke
Head coach: Andrew McDonald

Women’s squad: Sophie Devine (captain), Amy Jones, Ria Fackrell, Ashleigh Gardner, Marie Kelly, Evelyn Jones, Emily Arlott, Kirstie Gordon, Phoebe Franklin, Abtaha Maqsood, Thea Brookes, Gwen Davies, Issy Wong
Head coach: Ben Sawyer

London Spirit

Men’s squad: Zak Crawley, Glenn Maxwell, Eoin Morgan (captain), Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nabi, Mark Wood, Joe Denly, Dan Lawrence, Mason Crane, Adam Rossington, Roelof van der Merwe, Jade Dernbach, Luis Reece
Head coach: Shane Warne

Women’s squad: Deandra Dottin, Naomi Dattani, Heather Knight (captain), Amara Carr, Aylish Cranstone, Danielle Gibson, Susie Rowe, Chloe Tryon, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Hannah Jones, Sophie Munro
Head coach: Trevor Griffin

Manchester Originals

Men’s squad: Jos Buttler, Wayne Madsen, Matt Parkinson, Joe Clarke, Phil Salt
Head coach: Simon Katich

Women’s squad: Kate Cross, Danielle Collins, Mignon du Preez, Alice Dyson, Cordelia Griffith, Hannah Jones, Lizelle Lee, Georgie Boyce, Natalie Brown, Alex Hartley, Emma Lamb, Ellie Threlkeld
Head coach: Paul Shaw

Northern Superchargers

Men’s squad: Ben Stokes, Aaron Finch, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Chris Lynn, Adil Rashid, Adam Lyth, David Willey, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Brydon Carse, John Simpson
Head coach: Darren Lehmann

Women’s squad: Hollie Armitage, Katie Levick, Lauren Winfield-Hill (captain), Helen Fenby, Bess Heath, Linsey Smith
Head coach: Danielle Hazell

Oval Invincibles

Men’s squad: Sam Curran, Rory Burns, Jason Roy, Sunil Narine, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Sandeep Lamichhane, Reece Topley, Will Jacks, Laurie Evans, Nathan Sowter, Alex Blake
Head coach: Tom Moody

Women’s squad: Fran Wilson, Georgia Adams, Tash Farrant, Megan Belt, Eva Gray, Marizanne Kapp, Rhianna Southby, Sarah Bryce, Alice Capsey, Jo Gardner, Dane van Niekerk
Head coach: Lydia Greenway

Southern Brave

Men’s squad: Jofra Archer, Andre Russell, Marcus Stoinis, James Vince, Liam Dawson, Chris Jordan, Tymal Mills, Delray Rawlins, Alex Davies, George Garton, Ross Whiteley, Max Waller, Craig Overton
Head coach: Mahela Jayawardene

Women’s squad: Maia Bouchier, Freya Kemp, Tara Norris, Carla Rudd, Paige Scholfield, Anya Shrubsole, Stafanie Taylor, Danni Wyatt, Lauren Bell, Sonia Odedra, Amelia Kerr, Fi Morris
Head coach: Charlotte Edwards

Trent Rockets

Men’s squad: Joe Root, Rashid Khan, D’Arcy Short, Lewis Gregory, Alex Hales, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Dawid Malan, Matt Carter, Tom Moores, Steven Mullaney, Luke Wood, Luke Wright, Ben Cox
Head coach: Stephen Fleming

Women’s squad: Katherine Brunt, Nat Sciver, Elyse Villani, Kathryn Bryce, Abbey Freeborn, Kathryn Bryce, Lucy Higham
Head coach: Salliann Briggs

Welsh Fire

Men’s squad: Ollie Pope, Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Ben Duckett, Qais Ahmad, Liam Plunkett, David Payne, Ryan Higgins
Head coach: Gary Kirsten

Women’s squad: Katie George, Alex Griffiths, Georgia Hennessy, Lauren Filer, Sophie Luff, Natasha Wraith, Kirstie Gordon
Head coach: Matthew Mott

This page is regularly updated

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2021 DigitalGaliyara (OPC) Private Limited