WI vs SL – Obstructing the field

News

“He told me he didn’t see that properly at that time and only after he saw the video he realised I didn’t do anything.”

Danushka Gunathilaka has said Kieron Pollard apologised to him for his controversial obstructing-the-field appeal during the first ODI in Antigua.

The incident occurred in the 22nd over of Sri Lanka’s innings, when Gunathilaka, batting on 55, played the ball down into the pitch and ran a few steps out of his crease before deciding against the single when he saw the bowler, Pollard, haring towards the ball in a run-out attempt. In his effort to regain his crease, however, Gunathilaka trod on the ball and deflected it away from Pollard, leading to a furious appeal. It wasn’t clear from replays whether Gunathilaka had deliberately foiled a run-out attempt, but TV umpire Nigel Duguid ruled in the bowling team’s favour.

The incident drew strong reactions on social media.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/content/story/1254581.html?CMP=OTC-RSS